ARCHIVE

NUDE

22.11.2014-15.03.2015

In its current exhibition, Villa Schöningen is showing female bodies from the point of view of female artists from five centuries. Alongside landscapes, portraits and religious themes, the female nude is one of the most frequently depicted motifs in art history. From the Venus of Willendorf in front
From 25,000 years to the present day performances and video installations, the naked body has fascinated artists over the centuries. Time and again, dealing with nudity and eros was also an exploration of taboos and a fascinating indicator of the sense of time. Acts have shaped art history like a sensor of the constitution of freedom of a society or epoch: restrained, ashamed, idealizing, sexualizing, politicizing, violent, tender, ugly or disturbing. Whether the “Maja” by Goya, the “Olympia” by Manet or “L'Origine du Monde” by Courbet and “Les Demoiselles d Avignon” by Picasso, it was always nudes that provoked art scandals and explored new stylistic territory.

Under the title “Nude - Female Bodies By Female Artists”, the female body will be shown from May 4 to October 1, 2019 in the Villa Schöningen in Potsdam, exclusively in depictions by female artists. Almost all forms of sculpture, drawing, painting, photography and video are represented. The main question is whether there is such a thing as a specifically female view of the naked body. Or whether such stereotyping in the feminist context characterizes visual patterns that do not stand up to a prejudice-free view beyond gender clichés.

Press release Villa Schöningen

FEMALE BODIES

Marina Abramovic

Vanessa Beecroft

Huma Bhabha

Juno Calypso

Diana de Rose

Marion Fink

Maria Gimenez

Natalia Gontcharova

Barbara Hammer

Dorothy Iannone

Anne Imhof

Marie-Jo Lafontaine

Madeleine-Jeanne Lemaire

Dorothea Maetzel-Johannsen

Jeanne Mammen

Ana Mendieta

Paula Modersohn-Becker

Signe Pierce

Anita Rée

Ashley Hans Scheirl

Carolee Schneeman

Lara Schnitger

Suzanna Scott

Deborah Sengl

Cindy Sherman

Elisabetta Sirani

Elaine Sturtevant

Anna-Stina Treumund

Mickalene Thomas

Rosemarie Trockel

Anna Uddenberg

Amber Wellmann

Hannah Wilke

Sue Williams

Martha Wilson

Alison Zuckerman

BY FEMALE ARTISTS

The Seer and the Seen

30.04.2021-29.08.2021

Curated by Sonia González
González

Trulee Hall

Marcel Duchamp

Albrecht Dürer

Pompeo Massani

Edvard Munch

Diana de Rosa

Franz von Stuck

Holy Madonna or provocative whore - for a long time the predominant images of femininity that appeared in art. The American artist Trulee Hall also picked it up in her video work Two Tongues Duel the Corn Whores, An Opera, which can be seen in the context of this exhibition.

The opera - with a beatboxer as the narrator's voice - tells of the tense duel of the two clashing images of femininity, the Madonna and the whore. The struggle takes place in masturbation, striptease, domestic martyrdom, and a ritual of flawless conception. In the narrator's monological chant, the phrase The Seer and the Seen is used, giving the title of the current exhibition.

Because Hall is not only concerned with depicting gender and sexuality, she is also concerned with the relationship between subject and object, between what is seen and what is seen. Who are the observers, who are the observers? Is seeing an aesthetic or a moral judgment - or even a voyeuristic act?

Hall works with multimedia; she often stages her sculptures, paintings and videos in rooms that are reminiscent of theatrical backdrops. In her video works, live recordings, computer animations and stop-motion films, which are created with the help of clay figures, come together. In this way, she blurs the boundaries between the real and the fictitious.

The works of the 45-year-old artist have already been exhibited at the FRIEZE art fair in Los Angeles. The Zabludowicz Collection in London dedicated a solo exhibition to her in 2020, during which she produced the opera together with her. Villa Schöningen is now showing its works in Germany for the first time.

The characters in Hall's works emancipate themselves from their role as objects that only exist to be seen. This becomes all the more clear in the context of the old masters, with whom Hall's works are contrasted in the current exhibition. While the apple bite leads to ruin in Albrecht Dürer's Fall, Trulee Hall's interpretation of Eva already has the second apple ready for enjoyable consumption.

Her figures rise above the social gaze assigned to them, her works offer new patterns of interpretation for what has been seen, for what has been seen. In her pictorial worlds, the relationship between lakes and lakes is not a violent one, but rather unfolds an emancipating potential.

The Seer and the Seen

ARCHIV

NUDE

22.11.2014-15.03.2015

Weibliche Körper aus dem Blickwinkel von Künstlerinnen aus fünf Jahrhunderten zeigt die Villa Schöningen in ihrer aktuellen Ausstellung. Der weibliche Akt gehört neben Landschaften, Portraits und religiösen Themen zu den meist dargestellten Motiven der Kunstgeschichte. Von der Venus von Willendorf vor
25 000 Jahren bis zu Performances und Video- Installationen der Gegenwart hat der nackte Körper Künstler und Künstlerinnen über die Jahrhunderte hinweg fasziniert. Immer wieder war der Umgang mit Nacktheit und Eros auch eine Erkundung von Tabus und ein faszinierender Indikator des Zeitgefühls. Wie ein Sensor der Freiheits-Verfassung einer Gesellschaft oder Epoche haben Akte die Kunstgeschichte geprägt: Zurückhaltend, verschämt, idealisierend, sexualisierend, politisierend, gewaltsam, zärtlich, hässlich oder verstörend. Ob die “Maja” von Goya, die “Olympia” von Manet oder “L ́Origine du Monde” von Courbet und “Les Demoiselles d Avignon” von Picasso immer wieder waren es Akte, die Kunst- Skandale provozierten und stilistisches Neuland erkundeten.

Unter dem Titel „Nude - Female Bodies By Female Artists“ wird von 4. Mai bis zum 1. Oktober 2019 in der Potsdamer Villa Schöningen der weibliche Körper ausschließlich in Darstellungen von Künstlerinnen gezeigt. Dabei sind fast alle Formen von Skulptur, Zeichnung, Gemälde, Fotografie und Video vertreten. Im Vordergrund steht die Frage, ob es so etwas wie einen spezifisch weiblichen Blick auf den nackten Körper gibt. Oder ob solche Stereotypisierungen im feministischen Kontext Sehmuster prägen, die einer vorurteilsfreien Betrachtung jenseits der Geschlechter- Klischees nicht standhalten.

 

Pressetext Villa Schöningen

FEMALE BODIES

Marina Abramovic

Vanessa Beecroft

Huma Bhabha

Juno Calypso

Diana de Rose

Marion Fink

Maria Gimenez

Natalia Gontcharova

Barbara Hammer

Dorothy Iannone 

Anne Imhof

Marie-Jo Lafontaine

Madeleine-Jeanne Lemaire

Dorothea Maetzel-Johannsen

Jeanne Mammen

Ana Mendieta

Paula Modersohn-Becker

Signe Pierce

Anita Rée

Ashley Hans Scheirl

Carolee Schneeman

Lara Schnitger

Suzanna Scott

Deborah Sengl

Cindy Sherman

Elisabetta Sirani

Elaine Sturtevant

Anna-Stina Treumund

Mickalene Thomas

Rosemarie Trockel

Anna Uddenberg

Amber Wellmann

Hannah Wilke

Sue Williams

Martha Wilson

Alison Zuckerman

BY FEMALE ARTISTS

AND THE SEEN

30.04.2021-29.08.2021

Kuratiert von Sonia González

Trulee Hall

 

Marcel Duchamp 

Albrecht Dürer

Pompeo Massani

Edvard Munch 

Diana de Rosa 

Franz von Stuck 

Heilige Madonna oder provokative Hure – für lange Zeit die vorherrschenden Weiblichkeitsbilder, die in der Kunst vorkamen. Auch die amerikanische Künstlerin Trulee Hall hat sie in ihrer Videoarbeit Two Tongues Duel the Corn Whores, An Opera aufgegriffen, die im Rahmen dieser Ausstellung zu sehen ist.

 

Die Oper – mit einem Beatboxer als Erzählstimme – erzählt vom spannungsgeladenen Duell der zwei aufeinandertreffenden Weiblichkeitsbilder, der Madonna und der Hure. Der Kampf spielt sich in Masturbation, Striptease, häuslichem Martyrium und einem Ritual der makellosen Empfängnis ab. Im monologischen Sprechgesang des Erzählers fällt der Ausspruch The Seer and the Seen, titelgebend für die aktuelle Ausstellung.

 

Denn nicht nur die Darstellung von Geschlecht und Sexualität beschäftigt Hall, es geht ihr auch um die Beziehung von Subjekt und Objekt, von Sehendem und Gesehenem. Wer sind die Betrachtenden, wer die Betrachteten? Ist das Sehen eine ästhetisches oder ein moralisches Urteil – oder gar ein voyeuristischer Akt?

 

Hall arbeitet multimedial, ihre Skulpturen, Malereien und Videos setzt sie häufig in Räumen in Szene, die an Theaterkulissen erinnern. In ihren Videoarbeiten treffen Liveaufnahmen, Computer-Animationen und Stop-Motion-Filme, die mithilfe von Knetfiguren entstehen, aufeinander. So lässt sie die Grenzen des Realen zum Fiktiven verschwimmen.

Die Werke der 45-jährigen Künsterlin wurden bereits auf der Kunstmesse FRIEZE in Los Angeles ausgestellt. Die Zabludowicz Collection in London widmete ihr 2020 eine Einzelausstellung, in deren Rahmen sie gemeinsam mit ihr die Oper produzierte. Nun zeigt die Villa Schöningen ihre Werke erstmalig in Deutschland.

 

Die Figuren in Halls Werken emanzipieren sich von ihrer Rolle als Objekt, das nur existiert, um gesehen zu werden. Dies wird im Kontext der alten Meister umso deutlicher, mit denen Halls Arbeiten in der aktuellen Ausstellung kontrastiert werden. Während in Albrecht Dürers Sündenfall der Apfelbiss ins Verderben führt, hält Trulee Halls Interpretation der Eva schon den zweiten Apfel zum genussvollen Verzehr bereit.

 

Ihre Figuren erheben sich über den ihnen zugewiesenen gesellschaftlichen Blick, ihre Werke bieten neue Interpretationsmuster für das Gesehene, für die Gesehenen. In ihren Bildwelten ist die Beziehung zwischen Seer und Seen keine gewaltsame, sondern entfaltet ein emanzipierendes Potenzial.

Pressetext Villa Schöningen

THE SEER