Logo Villa Schöningen. Schwarz weiß gehalten

BLANC DE BLANCS

19.03.2022-05.06.2022

Kuratiert von Sonia González und Gregor Hildebrandt

Johannes Albers

Olivia Berckemeyer
Matthias Bitzer                     
John Bock                     
Björn Dahlem     
Edith Dekyndt
Cecilia Edefalk 
Amélie Esterházy
Bernard Frize 
Axel Geis                 
Raimund Girke 
Anna Grath
Theresa Hecker 
Gregor Hildebrandt
Leiko Ikemura                                                         Ann Veronica Janssens
Caro Jost                    
Manuel Kirsch 
Jürgen Krause 
Alicja Kwade
Inge Mahn
Isa Melsheimer                    
Olaf Metzel
Gerold Miller                     
Gabriel de la Mora 
Irina Ojovan                
Manfred Pernice 
Anselm Reyle 
Gerd Rohling 
Robert Ryman 
Michael Sailstorfer
Karin Sander
Erik Schmidt 
Jan Schmidt
Chris Succo 
Milen Till
Jorinde Voigt
Wiebke Maria Wachmann
Thomas Zipp

EXHIBITION

220505_vs_bdb_extended_web-14.png

The blank page of a book as a new beginning, a white dove as a symbol of peace, Buddhist monks wearing white in mourning. Purity, innocence, infinity, perfection, quiet, emptiness, cool. Rarely is any colour as laden with meaning as the colour white.

 

Blanc de Blancs – connoisseurs of wine use this term for a white wine pressed exclusively from white grapes. Blanc de Blancs also refers to the complex significance of this colour.

 

Snow falls behind the mountains, an exhibition curated by Berlin artist Gregor Hildebrandt in Copenhagen, serves as the starting point for Blanc de Blancs, to which Villa Schöningen added several other artistic positions. From 19 March to 8 May 2022, Villa Schöningen presents 54 works of art by 38 contemporary artists. As much as these works differ from one another, they all share one formal criterion: they engage with the colour white. With this achromatic colour that signifies not only reduction but complexity.

 

Karin Sander, for example, sends a white-ground, round canvas from exhibition to exhibition – entirely unpackaged. The subsequent patina, dents, cuts and supposed damage yield a drawing, a record of a shipping transit, a record of time. The work starts as a blank page and emerges by way of participation.

 

A different form of documentation of space and time can be found in The Sum of All Best Practices by Jorinde Voigt. The monochrome white of her work gives room for lines, cutting edges and shapes to appear, capturing the particular forms of a certain place at a certain time. In this case, it is foliage leaves the artist gathered on the way to her studio in the autumn of 2021.

 

Jürgen Krause applies a primer of chalk with a brush to both sides of a piece of paper. The mantra-like repetition of this process creates a blocky object of several centimetres, a concentration of countless possible drawings. Merely the title Priming. May to September 2012 alludes to a beginning and an end, even though the process is conceivable as repeating ad infinitum.

 

Thus, Villa Schöningen starts its exhibition year with a blank slate. The latest detention of a young Russian protesting her country’s invasion of Ukraine is but one example of the power of a white page. The protester expressed her dissent through a white poster without any writing or symbols. This was enough of a provocation for Russian authorities to arrest her.

Logo Villa Schöningen. Schwarz weiß gehalten

BLANC DE BLANCS

19.03.2022-05.06.2022

Kuratiert von Sonia González und Gregor Hildebrandt

Johannes Albers

Olivia Berckemeyer
Matthias Bitzer                     
John Bock                     
Björn Dahlem     
Edith Dekyndt
Cecilia Edefalk 
Amélie Esterházy
Bernard Frize 
Axel Geis                 
Raimund Girke 
Anna Grath
Theresa Hecker 
Gregor Hildebrandt
Leiko Ikemura                                                         Ann Veronica Janssens
Caro Jost                    
Manuel Kirsch 
Jürgen Krause 
Alicja Kwade
Inge Mahn
Isa Melsheimer                    
Olaf Metzel
Gerold Miller                     
Gabriel de la Mora 
Irina Ojovan                
Manfred Pernice 
Anselm Reyle 
Gerd Rohling 
Robert Ryman 
Michael Sailstorfer
Karin Sander
Erik Schmidt 
Jan Schmidt
Chris Succo 
Milen Till
Jorinde Voigt
Wiebke Maria Wachmann
Thomas Zipp

AUSSTELLUNG

220505_vs_bdb_extended_web-14.png

Eine weiße Buchseite als Neubeginn, eine weiße Taube als Friedenssymbol, buddhistische Mönche, die weiß tragen zur Trauer. Reinheit, Unschuld, Unendlichkeit, Perfektion, Stille, Leere, Kühle. Kaum eine Farbe ist so bedeutungsschwer wie die Farbe Weiß. 

 

Blanc de Blancs – Weinkenner bezeichnen damit einen Weißwein, der ausschließlich aus weißen Trauben gekeltert wurde. Blanc de Blancs meint aber auch die Bedeutungsvielfalt dieser Farbe.

 

Die vom Berliner Künstler Gregor Hildebrandt in Kopenhagen kuratierte Ausstellung Schnee fällt hinterm Berge dient als Ausgangspunkt für diese Ausstellung und wurde für die Villa Schöningen um einige Positionen ergänzt. Vom 19. März bis 08. Mai 2022 zeigt die Villa Schöningen 54 Werke von 38 zeitgenössischen Künstler:innen. So unterschiedlich die Arbeiten sind, sie alle eint ein formales Kriterium: ihre Auseinandersetzung mit der Farbe Weiß. Mit einer unbunten Farbe, die nicht nur Reduktion, sondern auch Vielfalt bedeuten kann.

 

Karin Sander etwa versendet eine weiß grundierte, runde Leinwand komplett unverpackt von Ausstellung zu Ausstellung. Die entstandene Patina, Schrammen, Kratzer und vermeintlichen Beschädigungen ergeben eine Zeichnung, eine Aufzeichnung des Postweges, eine Aufzeichnung von Zeit. Ihr Werk startet als leeres, unbeschriebenes Blatt und gestaltet sich partizipativ. 

 

Eine andere Form der Dokumentation von Ort und Zeit findet sich im Werk The Sum of All Best Practices von Jorinde Voigt. Hier ermöglicht das monochrome Weiß das Hervortreten von Linien, Schnittkanten und Formen, die spezifische Formen an einem bestimmten Ort, zu einer bestimmten Zeit festhalten. In diesem Werk sind es Laubblätter, die die Künstlerin im Herbst 2021 auf dem Weg zu ihrem Atelier sammelte.

 

Jürgen Krause trägt mit einem Pinsel Kreidegrund auf beide Seiten eines Papiers auf. Die mantraartige Wiederholung dieser Handlung lässt ein blockhaftes, mehrere Zentimeter dickes Objekt entstehen, eine Verdichtung vieler möglicher Bilder. Lediglich der Titel Grundierung. Mai bis September 2012 lässt auf einen Anfang und Ende schließen, auch wenn sich die Handlung ins Unendliche denken lässt.

 

So beginnt die Villa Schöningen ihr Ausstellungsjahr mit einer weißen Seite. Wie mächtig diese sein kann, zeigte jüngst die Festnahme einer jungen Russin, die gegen den Einmarsch ihres Landes in die Ukraine demonstrierte. Ihrem Protest verlieh sie mit einem weißen Plakat ohne Schrift und ohne Symbole Ausdruck. Für die russische Staatsmacht Provokation genug, um sie zu verhaften.