TIRED EYES

11.11.2020-28.03.2021

Martin Gross

ARCHIVE

The work Tired Eyes (2020) by Martin Groß can be seen on the window front of Villa Schöningen for the time of the renewed lockdown. In a large-format plot, Martin Groß designed a reflection space that is between reality

and dream manifested. Looking outside, a figure keeps its tired eyes open with the last of its strength so as not to miss anything or to be able to sleep with open eyes. Groß's artistic spectrum includes drawings, installations and text works. In his works, the real is constituted in exchange with the imaginary. Through language, text, sound and a strong visual component, he refers to different realities, online as well as offline, to communication structures and their interstices.

Martin Groß (* 1984 in Plauen) lives and works in Berlin. He studied at the Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst in Leipzig and at the Royal Academy of Arts in London. He has participated in numerous exhibitions at home and abroad, including in the Kunsthalle Rostock, as part of the Lichtparcours 2020 Braunschweig, in the Kunstraum Potsdam, in the K11 art village of the K11 Art Foundation in Wuhan, China, in the CAA Art Museum Hangzhou, China, in the G2 Kunsthalle Leipzig, in the SMAC Berlin, in the Pipe Factory Glasgow, UK, in the gallery EIGEN + ART Leipzig, in the EIGEN + ART Lab Berlin, in the Ludwig Forum Aachen and in the Kunstraum Ortloff Leipzig.

Press release Villa Schöningen

Außenansicht Martin Gross, Tired Eyes, 2020

TIRED EYES

11.11.2020-10.03.2021

Martin Gross

ARCHIV

An der Fensterfront der Villa Schöningen ist für die Zeit des erneuten Lockdowns die Arbeit Tired Eyes (2020) von Martin Groß zu sehen. In einem großformatigen Plot hat Martin Groß einen Reflexionsraum entworfen, der sich zwischen Realität

und Traum manifestiert. Den Blick nach draußen gerichtet, hält eine Figur ihre übermüdeten Augen mit letzter Kraft offen um nichts zu verpassen oder mit offenen Augen schlafen zu können. Groß ́ künstlerisches Spektrum umfasst Zeichnungen, Installationen und Textarbeiten. In seinen Arbeiten konstituiert sich das Reale im Austausch mit dem Imaginären. Durch Sprache, Text, Sound und eine starke visuelle Komponente verweist er auf verschiedene Realitäten, online wie auch offline, auf Kommunikationsstrukturen und deren Zwischenräume.

 

Martin Groß (*1984 in Plauen) lebt und arbeitet in Berlin. Er studierte an der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst in Leipzig und an der Royal Academy of Arts in London. Er hat an zahlreichen Ausstellungen im In- und Ausland teilgenommen, u.a. in der Kunsthalle Rostock, im Rahmen des Lichtparcours 2020 Braunschweig, im Kunstraum Potsdam, im K11 art village der K11 Art Foundation in Wuhan, China, im CAA Art Museum Hangzhou, China, in der G2 Kunsthalle Leipzig, im SMAC Berlin, in der Pipe Factory Glasgow, UK, in der Galerie EIGEN + ART Leipzig, im EIGEN + ART Lab Berlin, im Ludwig Forum Aachenund im Kunstraum Ortloff Leipzig.

Pressetext Villa Schöningen

Außenansicht Martin Gross, Tired Eyes, 2020