ARCHIVE

A LIFE FOR

MOMENTS

09.08.2018-09.09.2018

TONY VACCARO - A LIFE FOR MOMENTS

From August 9 to September 9, 2018, Villa Schöningen is showing the exhibition A Life for Moments with 120 photos by 95-year-old New York photographer Tony Vaccaro. He is the last living significant photo chronicler of World War II and the German post-war period.

He later worked for the major magazines Life, Look and Flair. His fashion and portrait photos went around the world. The photo stories were events back then, the photojournalists the story plates of their time. Vaccaro was one of the most brilliant of them, one of the last great magicians of the "Golden Age of Photography".

TONY VACCARO - A LIFE FOR MOMENTS. A life fixated on the crucial, fleeting moment that had to be captured. Lifelike, familiar, intimate. Not just being there, but in the middle of the action - this is how Vaccaro took his photos. Tens of thousands of these photographic moments count his life.

It is the professionalism, the attitude and the artistic ability of the photojournalist to capture the authentic and the magical moment at the same time that turns a photo into a unique, haunting story. An attentive audience of millions, hungry for stories, has been waiting for them, sucking them in month after month.

With Vaccaro's eyes you saw Picasso, Max Ernst and Georgia O'Keeffe. Peggy Guggenheim, Grace Kelly and Sophia Loren, John F. Kennedy, Maria Callas and Frank Lloyd Wright.

Images of unbroken effectiveness, icons of photojournalism, snapshots of entire generations, which today, in the age of quick photos, selfies, the Internet and its flood of information and images, have an even more intense effect in their own style and spirit.

Vaccaro's extraordinary photojournalist career began in 1944 on Omaha Beach, Normandy, as a soldier in the 83rd Infantry Division. D-Day meant for him: In one hand an M1 assault rifle in the other his Argus C-3 camera. On the way across Europe he took thousands of photos, a unique documentation of life and death in World War II.

Vaccaro stayed in Europe until 1949. As a photographer for The Stars and Stripes, the US Army newspaper, he became a chronicler of the post-war period, the first years of peace, especially of Germany that was destroyed and slowly regaining hope. In his concise view of the "zero hour" he documented German cultural history in all its facets up to the founding of the Federal Republic. After the war, Vaccaro was drawn to his second home in Italy again and again. He lived here from 1925-39, this is where his parents came from. The result was extraordinary photos, La Mia Italia, entirely in the spirit of neorealism.

When he returned to the USA, Vaccaro started his third career in New York, as a fashion and portrait photographer. For three decades his photo stories filled the big glamor magazines and magazines. Vaccaro also comes full circle in the photos of the twin towers in his hometown of New York. The first recordings were made during the planning phase of the World Trade Center, his last recordings on September 11, 2001 when the twin towers went up in flames. More than half a century after documenting the war, he was again capturing images of the destruction.

Tony Vaccaro himself will be present at the big summer party on September 2nd at Villa Schöningen. On the same day, the documentary film for the exhibition about Tony Vaccaro's life's work will be shown in the Villa Schöningen, which will also be broadcast on the same day on the rbb.

Tony Vaccaro

ARCHIV

A LIFE FOR

MOMENTS

09.08.2018-09.09.2018

TONY VACCARO – A LIFE FOR MOMENTS

 

 

Vom 9. August bis zum 9. September 2018 zeigt die Villa Schöningen die Ausstellung A Life for Moments mit 120 Fotos des 95-jährigen New Yorker Fotografen Tony Vaccaro. Er ist der letzte lebende bedeutende Foto-Chronist des II. Weltkrieges und der deutschen Nachkriegszeit.

Später arbeitete er für die großen Magazine Life, Look und Flair. Seine Mode- und Porträtaufnahmen gingen um die Welt. Die Fotostorys waren damals Ereignisse, die Fotojournalisten die Story-Teller ihrer Zeit. Vaccaro war einer der brillantesten unter ihnen, einer der letzten großen Magier des „Goldenen Zeitalters der Fotografie“.

 

TONY VACCARO – A LIFE FOR MOMENTS. Ein Leben fixiert auf den entscheidenden, flüchtigen Moment, den es festzuhalten galt. Lebensnah, vertraut, intim. Nicht nur dabei sein, sondern mitten im Geschehen - so machte Vaccaro seine Fotos. Zehntausende dieser fotografischen Augenblicke zählt sein Leben.

 

Es ist die Professionalität, die Haltung und das künstlerische Vermögen des Fotojournalisten, den authentischen und den magischen Moment gleichzeitig zu erfassen, der aus einem Foto eine einmalige, eindringliche Story macht. Ein aufmerksames, ein nach Geschichten hungriges Millionenpublikum hat auf sie gewartet, sie Monat für Monat in sich eingesogen.

Mit Vaccaros Augen sah man Picasso, Max Ernst und Georgia O’Keeffe. Peggy Guggenheim, Grace Kelly und Sophia Loren, John F. Kennedy, Maria Callas und Frank Lloyd Wright.

Bilder von ungebrochener Wirkungskraft, Ikonen des Fotojournalismus, Momentaufnahmen ganzer Generationen, die heute, in der Zeit der schnellen Fotos, der Selfies, des Internets und seiner Flut an Informationen und Bildern, umso intensiver in ihrem eigenen Stil und Geist wirken.

 

Vaccaros außergewöhnliche Karriere als Fotojournalist begann 1944 am Strand von Omaha Beach in der Normandie als Soldat der 83. Infanteriedivision. D-Day hieß für ihn: In der einen Hand ein M1-Sturmgewehr in der anderen seine Argus C-3 Kamera. Auf dem Weg quer durch Europa machte er tausende Fotos, eine einmalige Dokumentation des Lebens und Sterbens im II. Weltkrieg.

 

Bis 1949 blieb Vaccaro in Europa. Als Fotograf für The Stars and Stripes, die Zeitung der US-Army, wurde er zum Chronist der Nachkriegszeit, der ersten Friedensjahre, besonders des zerstörten und langsam wieder Hoffnung schöpfenden Deutschlands. In seiner prägnanten Sicht auf die „Stunde Null“ dokumentierte er deutsche Kulturgeschichte bis zur Gründung der Bundesrepublik in all ihren Facetten. Immer wieder zog es Vaccaro nach dem Krieg auch in seine zweite Heimat Italien. Hier lebte er von 1925-39, hier kamen seine Eltern her. Es entstanden außergewöhnliche Fotos, La Mia Italia, ganz im Geist des Neorealismus.

 

Mit der Rückkehr in die USA startete Vaccaro in New York seine dritte Karriere, als Fashion- und Porträt-Fotograf. Drei Jahrzehnte füllten seine Foto-Storys die großen Glamour-Zeitschriften und Magazine. In den Fotos über die Twin Towers seiner Heimatstadt New York schließt sich für Vaccaro auch ein Kreis. Die ersten Aufnahmen entstanden schon in der Planungsphase des World Trade Centers, seine letzten Aufnahmen am 11. September 2001 als die Zwillingstürme in Flammen aufgingen. Über ein halbes Jahrhundert, nachdem er schon einmal den Krieg dokumentierte, hielt er wieder Bilder der Zerstörung fest.

 

Tony Vaccaro wird beim großen Sommerfest am 2. September in der Villa Schöningen selbst anwesend sein. Am gleichen Tag wird der Dokumentarfilm zur Ausstellung über Tony Vaccaros Lebenswerk in der Villa Schöningen gezeigt, der ebenfalls an diesem Tag im rbb ausgestrahlt wird.

Tony Vaccaro